Themes

I’ve decided to start experimenting with wordpress’s themes in order to get a different look from the other math blogs.  What do people think of this one? There’s a few others that I’ve been considering as well, and I may continue experimenting throughout the month.

About Charles Siegel

Charles Siegel is currently a postdoc at Kavli IPMU in Japan. He works on the geometry of the moduli space of curves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Themes

  1. The icon at the top.. “No _____”?

  2. Charles says:

    It seems to be a default picture. If I stick with a theme that wants one (like this one), I’ll be putting something else up there. Haven’t decided what yet, though. Suggestions are welcome.

  3. Index Guy says:

    As long as the LaTeX looks readable, the theme is a good choice.

  4. Charles says:

    I switched again, I think I like this one better, and now I’m looking for a banner image, but this is probably what I’m going to stick with.

  5. Vishal Lama says:

    This is a great theme, but the dark background? I mean,it is really difficult reading anything against a dark background!

  6. Charles says:

    Ahh, I find it generally easier to ring light on dark than dark on light, and made the decision in part because I found this more comfortable to read. There are many possible explanations (my eyes are rather bad in many, many ways).

  7. Anatoly says:

    The theme is too dark. Posts and comments are easy to read, but the the sidebar (the about section especially) is hard to read.
    It does save electricity however…

  8. Anonymous says:

    Dear Charles,
    white on black makes for very unpleasant reading.
    Please, don’t keep that feature.

  9. Charles says:

    Ok, people have spoken, and no white on black. How about this one? It’s much more conventional, but I think none of the other math bloggers (at least, the ones I read) are using it.

  10. Vishal Lama says:

    Yeah, this is great! Much better than the previous one that ostensibly would have saved quite a bit of electricity! :P

  11. Damn, the old “Save the Electrons” page went down sometime in the last.. ten years.

    I’m so old.

  12. matt says:

    Nice blog, I read it when ever you post!

    I like the theme, though the “select category drop down seems too big to fit in the colum in Firefox 2.0.0.13 (gutsy) ubuntu

    best

    -m

  13. Charles says:

    Yeah, I noticed that, and it’s like that in all versions, I think. The problem is that I had the lack of foresight to name a category “Algebraic Geometry from the Beginning” which is a long name. I might go and change it to AGftB and also create a Page indexing the posts and organizing them a bit, but until I do something like that, the select category drop down will be too large.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Very pleasant appearance.Thanks.

Leave a Reply

