MaBloWriMo?

So, anyone who spends much time on the internet, or else hangs out with liberal arts types, is probably aware of NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month in November.  Now, if you’re a fifth year grad student or so, there’s NaDiWriMo, National Dissertation Writing Month, to try to motivate people to write their theses and get out of grad school.  So I’m considering attempting to start (even if I’m the only participant) Math Blog Writing Month.  Wherein I’ll post every day, with posts on the order of about a thousand words a day (a bit shorter than the 50k that NaNoWriMo shoots for over November, but still).  I’m going to organize my project by picking a topic and blogging the hell out of it, and to make it focus me, I’m going to pick something that I either know nothing about, or else know only the basics of, and will start near the beginning and go as far as I can in a month, ideally completing a short book.

First off, any other math bloggers interested in doing something like this? If so, I’ll create a page and link to everyone’s series.  If not, well, I’ll just be my usual crazy self and do it alone.

Second, I’ve got options on what I read, and want some input from what people would like to see.  Though I won’t be sticking to any single text, I’m going to use some texts as examples of the material to be covered.  Here are some of the options (and suggestions from the peanut gallery are welcome, as well as votes)

What should I write about in November?
(polls)

About Charles Siegel

Charles Siegel is currently a postdoc at Kavli IPMU in Japan. He works on the geometry of the moduli space of curves.
This entry was posted in MaBloWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to MaBloWriMo?

  1. A thousand might be a bit much. There’s a certain threshold of comprehensibility unless most of the “words” WordPress counts are in \LaTeX formulæ. I’ve got a bunch coming up around the 700-800 word line that would feel bloated if I pushed them any farther.

  2. Qiaochu Yuan says:

    I’m interested. The main thing this would force me to do is write shorter posts about a single idea, whereas right now I usually try to do too much in one post.

  3. hilbertthm90 says:

    I’d love to. I’m not convinced I’d actually be successful, though. I usually consider 1000 words to be pushing the long side.

  4. Well, perhaps 1000 is a bit much. Maybe instead I’ll just do shorter, or, if I’m feeling ambitious, do two posts the same day.

  5. And though there were issues for a bit, the poll should be working again now, for anyone who wants to vote. I’m leaving it open until the 28th.

  6. in fact, there’s only so much blog that i can handle at a time … i recommend ensuring that different peoples math-blogging sprees are kept DISJOINT. then i can sing-along with the blog posts, actually learn stuff, and also make appropriate sensible comments (like this one :) ).

  7. Pingback: The induced representation « Annoying Precision

  8. Akhil Mathew says:

    Interesting idea, I’ll give this a try, and like Qiaochu, I’ll probably start posting shorter entries.

  9. Pingback: Parallelism determines the connection « Delta Epsilons

  10. Pingback: MaBloWriMo « ∑idiot’s Blog

  11. Pingback: Farey Sequences « ∑idiot’s Blog

  12. Pingback: In which I am late to the MaBloWriMo party « Portrait of the Mathematician

  13. I’ve created a MaBloWriMo page! I’ve got myself and four others who seem to be doing this, if you’re aware of anyone else (especially if you ARE that anyone) let me know either here or in a comment on the page and I’ll add you to the list.

  14. pmoduli says:

    I’m pretty late, but I’ll do this. I have a few things to talk about.

    http://somemathblog.wordpress.com/

  15. Pingback: MaBloWriMo II? « Climbing Mount Bourbaki

  16. Pingback: Cardinality | Gracious Living and the Two Meat Meal

  17. Pingback: MaBloWriMo | Gracious Living and the Two Meat Meal

  18. Pingback: Equivariant K-theory « Climbing Mount Bourbaki

  19. Pingback: MaBloWriMo is upon us « Annoying Precision

Leave a Reply

