The Fields Medals have been announced! The winners are Elon Lindenstrauss, Ngô Bảo Châu, Stanislav Smirnov and Cedric Villani.  Of them, the only one I was really aware of was Ngô Bảo Châu, as I’d been reading a lot of Geometric Langlands stuff right around when he proved the Fundamental Lemma, so for him, I have a bit of an idea of what he did.  Looking forward to reading up a bit on the others (if anyone can recommend a paper of theirs that’s relatively easy to read and has some of the work that got them Fields Medals, I’d be very interested.)

And I’m going to make a point of being one of the first to do so openly, and speculate on 2014.  I think Lurie will win (I’ve been saying this for a couple of years now, that he won’t get 2010, but will in 2014) and I say 50/50 on Ávila, as he’ll have still have another round…but of course, in the next four years, anything can happen.