Mathematical Odds and Ends

Here are some things that aren’t big enough to warrant individual posts. Well, just two things.

First up, I’ve recently become aware of the Open Problem Garden which seems to have the laudible purpose of putting together a database of open problems and conjectures in math and theoretical computer science. It’s pretty much dominated by graph theory stuff at the moment, though. Anyone got a good pile of topology, geometry, algebra and analysis problems to put in? If it’s to be worth anything as a resource, it does need the support of the community.

And second, on the 11th, I’m hosting the Carnival of Mathematics (in theory…don’t know what I’m doing, haven’t hosted a carnival before). So, please submit stuff to it. I know that some people consider it a carnival of lower mathematics, and I’ve looked over the last few and tend to agree. I’m still quite happy to host it, though. Now, if people want a more research level mathematics carnival, I’m also willing to start and organize a Carnival of Higher Mathematics, so if you’d be willing to contribute semi-regularly to something of that sort, please leave a comment.

About Charles Siegel

Charles Siegel is currently a postdoc at Kavli IPMU in Japan. He works on the geometry of the moduli space of curves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mathematical Odds and Ends

  1. Let me reiterate: it became a de facto Carnival for the lower (and more popular) areas of mathematics. There’s nothing to bar it from serving both purposes, but I think the audiences are different, and that the research-oriented blathosphere is too small to really support a Carnival per se.

  2. Charles says:

    Well, I had in mind that, if the Carnival of Mathematics turns out to be unable to serve both purposes, perhaps a monthly carnival for the more research oriented group would allow enough time to acquire a significant number of posts. Ideally, though, CoM can mix everything together and, if nothing else, allow people to notice that there’s more to mathematics than just the puzzles and high school stuff that most people get to see.

  3. Isabel Lugo says:

    The Open Problem Garden seems quite interesting. And I agree that it’s graph-theory-slanted; I suspect that’s because its creators are graph theorists and they’re writing what they know.

    But why is it called a garden? I fail to see the metaphor that makes problems into plants. Unless some of the problems are about trees. Or forests, like this conjecture of Pemantle.

    (Yes, I made a graph theory joke.)

    Actually, I’m surprised the creators didn’t call it an “open problem forest”. “Garden” really doesn’t seem like the right metaphor for open problems. In gardens you can easily find your way around and everything is nicely organized, which isn’t how math works at the frontier.

  4. Hi! I programmed an attractive online calculator that find the greatest common divisor(GCD) between two numbers. I will be happy, if you add the link in your blog. I hope that you and your visitors will enjoy!

    http://gcd.awardspace.com

    bye!

  5. Matt DeVos says:

    I’m glad to see that you discovered the Open Problem Garden.

    As you note, the Garden is dominated by graph theory at the moment.. but we are eager for that to change. So let me encourage you to post a problem and help us grow! (sorry for pun).

    PS: About the choice of the word garden.. you might imagine each conjecture as a seed which could sprout into something beautiful.

  6. ok
    i so glad i found you
    since i already go my masters in math (many moons ago)
    and i have forgotten just about everything.

    but i actually do use statistics at work, so you shulsee me reviewing my old old old texts.

    you are blogrolled so maybe i can learn something again

  7. Charles says:

    Oh, and this is something that I should have put in the main body…I don’t know how the automated submission stuff at Blog Carnival works, so send submissions to siegelch[at]math[dot]upenn[dot]edu to make sure I get them.

Leave a Reply

