Begging for Submissions

Ok, I know I’m harping on this, but I really need submissions to the Carnival, which I’m posting Friday morning.  That means I need them Thursday night.  Please either go to the automated submission page on Blog Carnivals, or email submissions to me at siegelch[at]math[dot]upenn[edu], I’m up to six, but that’s still a pretty sad carnival.

Anything since June 13 is fair game, and I know that many of you have written some good things since then, and though not a carnival, I’m going to link to a bunch of them right now, asking you for permission to use your posts on Friday.

(I will not use any posts without explicit permission, so please email me if you want the post I picked out or something else used on Friday, this is merely a list of posts I found interesting)

The sum-product phenomenon in arbitrary rings

What’s a Stack?

The Carter-Gelsinger Eversion

Basic Category Theory I

A Variant of the Travelling Salesman Problem

About Charles Siegel

Charles Siegel is currently a postdoc at Kavli IPMU in Japan. He works on the geometry of the moduli space of curves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Begging for Submissions

  1. Isabel Lugo says:

    Go ahead and use mine.

  2. Oh sure. I do enough shameless self-promotion that I’m making up for it with shameless Scott-promotion this time. If the Carnival helps, so much the better.

  3. Vishal Lama says:

    I am sure Todd won’t mind if you use his post on basic category theory.

  4. A.J. Tolland says:

    You’re welcome to use the stacks post.

  5. Walt says:

    The Blog Carnival site lists “catsynth” as the next one. Are you sure you have the right date? When I hosted it a couple of months ago, I got more than six submissions.

  6. Walt says:

    I looked through my posts, and the only one from the last two weeks that’s at all interesting is this one:

    http://www.arsmathematica.net/archives/2008/06/17/brouwer-fixed-point-theorem/

    Feel free to use it.

  7. Gil Kalai says:

    yes, yes like Isabel, John and the others I will be honoured

  8. Charles says:

    Walt,

    That’s because the Blog Carnival page wasn’t updated when Catsynth hosted. Check out the list of “Future Hosts” and you’ll see that I’m down for tomorrow. And thanks for the post.

    Gil,

    Is there a particular post that would you like me to use?

  9. Walt says:

    Given that the software got that wrong, couldn’t it be sending the submissions to CatSynth?

  10. Charles says:

    Alon Levy has forwarded five to me, and one was sent directly to me from it, which indicates that it’s sending them to me, I think.

  11. Walt says:

    I’ll try it and see what happens.

  12. Charles says:

    It went right to my email box. Which makes 7 through blog carnival.

  13. Walt says:

    I was wrong to question the software. I have dishonored myself and my family.

  14. Anonymous says:

    I suspect this is too late (I just realized you were hosting) but I’d be happy to submit “The Calculus of Crabbing” http://threesixty360.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/the-calculus-of-crabbing/
    from July 2.

  15. Ξ says:

    Whoops — I thought I was signed in when I just posted! “The Calculus of Crabbing” is from the blog 360 (and I’m Ξ (Heather)).

  16. Terence Tao says:

    Hmm, for some reason my previous comment disappeared, and now it’s too late; ah well. Anyway, for what it’s worth, anyone is welcome to link to any of my posts, for the Carnival or otherwise.

  17. Pingback: Permission for Carnivals? « Secret Blogging Seminar

Leave a Reply

