Fields Medals 2010

The Fields Medals have been announced! The winners are Elon Lindenstrauss, Ngô Bảo Châu, Stanislav Smirnov and Cedric Villani.  Of them, the only one I was really aware of was Ngô Bảo Châu, as I’d been reading a lot of Geometric Langlands stuff right around when he proved the Fundamental Lemma, so for him, I have a bit of an idea of what he did.  Looking forward to reading up a bit on the others (if anyone can recommend a paper of theirs that’s relatively easy to read and has some of the work that got them Fields Medals, I’d be very interested.)

And I’m going to make a point of being one of the first to do so openly, and speculate on 2014.  I think Lurie will win (I’ve been saying this for a couple of years now, that he won’t get 2010, but will in 2014) and I say 50/50 on Ávila, as he’ll have still have another round…but of course, in the next four years, anything can happen.


About Charles Siegel

Charles Siegel is currently a postdoc at Kavli IPMU in Japan. He works on the geometry of the moduli space of curves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fields Medals 2010

  1. I’m happy about Smirnov, out of loyalty to where I got my mathematics degree, Caltech. All 4 are great choices.

    As to your speculations:
    Jacob Alexander Lurie (born 7 December 1977) is an American mathematician, who is currently a professor at Harvard University. In 1996 he took first place in the Westinghouse Science Talent Search and was featured in a front-page story in Washington Times.[I only got an Honorable Mention in the Westinghouse Science Talent Search] He graduated from the Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science Magnet Program at Montgomery Blair High School. Lurie earned his Bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Harvard College in 2000 and was awarded in the same year the Morgan Prize for his work on Lie algebras. He earned his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology under supervision of Michael J. Hopkins in 2004 with a thesis on derived algebraic geometry. In 2007, he became associate professor at the MIT, and in 2009 he became professor at Harvard.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s